Day 5 Eurowinter 2008: Zurich and Schaffhausen


I arrived early in the morning in Zurich Hauptbahnhof (Zurich Central Station) at 6.20 a.m. after 13-hour long train from Prague. My accommodation is at City Backpacker Zurich, located at the center of Old Town which is not that far from the Zurich Hauptbahnhof. Unfortunately for me, after being so tired of the long journey, my bed wasn’t available until 11 a.m.

City Backpacker Zurich is the cheapest budget hostel in the center of Zurich which costs only 22 euros for one night in a dormitory. But then, it’s crappier. The building is like a cheap flathouse (which is of course expensive in a city like Zurich). Unlike the Geneva City Hostel, the Zurich one doesn’t have free wireless so I wasn’t able to update my blog for a while. And Geneva’s hostel services are so much better (selling Swiss tickets from the hostel office, bigger common rooms, locker and laundry services)

 

Before the bed is ready, I decided to take a walk in Zurich city. But first, I called home with my European simcard United Mobile and wished my 17 year old brother Farhan happy birthday on the 4th of February 2008. Then I bought myself a Swiss Youth Pass (pic) at the price of CHF 195 (EUR 121) that allows unlimited travel within Switzerland from one end of the country till another end. Meaning I can travel from Zurich (German-speaking Northeast Switzerland) to the most west of Switzerland Geneva (French-speaking) or Lugano in the most south (Italian-speaking) and get back to Zurich on the very same day! (This thanks to the very extensive and systematic train services of Switzerland)

basel-021.jpg

Zurich is the smallest metropolitan city in the world with the population 360, 000. I finished sightseeing Zurich in less than 2 hours. Most sights are located in the Old Town and my hostel is also in the Old Town, so you can do the math (pic).

zurich-023.jpg

After checking in I had kebab for my breakfast (or lunch) and then tour lake Zurich. With the alpine panorama, clear blue sky where the white seagulls are flying, fresh air with cool nice weather, real European architectures and sculptures on its buildings, friendly Swiss people – you can do the math.

Later, I caught a train to a countryside Schaffhausen. Schaffhausen is very famous for the Europe’s most powerful waterfall. OMG the waterfall is so beautiful!!! (pics)

schaffhausen-029.jpg

 

schaffhausen-034.jpg

On my way back, I stopped by at Suria, Malaysian food bistro near Schaffhausen train station. I couldn’t find a Malaysian restaurant in metropolitan Zurich, but there it is in the small town of Schaffhausen.(pic)

 

schaffhausen-040.jpg

 

At night back in my hostel, there was a new Japanese guy as my roommate. He is Cairo-bound. He travels alone (most of the young travelers here travel alone!) loves Naruto more than anything else. Wahahaha! If he loves Bleach, maybe I could talk much more about that.

2 thoughts on “Day 5 Eurowinter 2008: Zurich and Schaffhausen

Leave a Reply

