Penang – family and kampung


lounge

Life’s good. I am in Penang’s Gurney Hotel Executive lounge waiting for a friend who promised to belanja if I ever come to Penang… but he never showed up, unfortunately

gurney executip

Luckily I stayed in executive floor… else, I’d be running to Thailand already!


blog - hujan gurney

View from 15th floor of Gurney Hotel to Georgetown. It was raining, as if not welcoming my presence😦


blog - kereta dlm kebun

New Honda Accord parked in a village


blog - kampung kebun

This is the little bridge on the way to my maternal grandfather’s orchard… After the rain


blog - kebun lagi

Road not taken


blog - kampungan

Countryside


blog - kebun tokwan

Efenem’s grandfather’s orchard… It’s durian season!


blog - umah balik pulau

After visiting the orchard, we visited grandpa’s bungalow in Balik Pulau, but grandpa’s already moved to Kulim. So nostalgic

blog - sepupu angkat

My adopted cousin – Iman


blog - tokwan man kampung

After Balik Pulau, we drove to Kepala Batas to paternal grandfather’s kampung. The rain was unforgiving…


blog - keluarga

Family


blog - tokwan

With tokwan (grandpa)


blog - tok

With tok (grandma)


blog - fatin

Then we visited Kulim to maternal grandpa’s house. These two in my arms are my AUNTIES… little twin aunties

Leave a Reply

